Wednesday, October 8, 2014

Apocalyptic Beasts

Definition: An Apocolyptic Beast is a mythological creature that rises to consume the whole of creation and bring an end to time - and be warned, there are quite a lot of them throughout the world. However, today I will only look at the Judeo-Christian Apocalyptic Beasts.

According to the word of St John, there are Four Beasts of the Apocalypse, but only three of these are described in any detail. Beast Number 1: An ocean dwelling nightmare, who rises from the sea with seven hydra-like heads, complete with a lion's jaw, the body of a leopard, and the feet of a bear.

Beast Number 2: An subterreanean earth beast, similar in appearance to Beast Number 1, but with a single horned head. Beast Number 3: Is called the Scarlet Beast, shares its appearance with the other two beasts but is red in colouration.

There are in fact numerous other Apocalyptic beasts referred to in the Christian Bible, some of the most well known would be The Leviathan and Behemoth.


In addition to these beauties we have the four horses of the Apocalypse. Which are four enormous horses, a white, black, red and pale horse, each representing conquest, famine, war and death respectively.

Then there is the Tetramorphs, a combination of a man, lion and eagle and ox. The tetramorph is the amalgamation of the symbols of the Four Evangelists from the Book of Ezekiel, into a single figure or, more commonly, a group of four figures. Each of the four Evangelists has a creature, usually shown with wings: St Matthew the man, St Mark the lion, St Luke the ox, and John the eagle.

You'll have to imagine the ox on the other side.
So there you have it some Apocalyptic Beasts, for you to muse over.

No comments:

Post a Comment